Our Lady Of Sorrows

Traditional Catholic Church

The 40 days of Lent and 24 days of Advent are penitential seasons. Most people aren't aware that Advent is a penitential season but it is. It's a time to prepare for the Resurrection of Christ (during Lent) and the birth of Christ (during Advent.) It is also an amazing opportunity to make reparation for our sins. The church has put rules into place that must be observed and followed.       


Abstinence: Around the 7th century the church started observing abstinence every Friday of the year as a way to venerate the passion of our Lord. Of course with the modernization of the church today, this wonderful tradition has been done away with. We are now obliged to abstain from meat on Fridays during Lent, Ash Wednesday, Holy Saturday and the Vigils of all Holy Days of obligation. Those who choose to stay faithful to the true Catholic faith still abstain from meat on all Fridays of the year. 

Exceptions may be made by the Bishop or Pastor for individuals due to health reasons or personal circumstances

Fasting: All persons between the ages of twenty one and fifty nine are obliged to fast. This means that on a fast day they may have only one principal or full meal and two smaller meals. They may eat meat at the principal meal except on days of complete abstinence. At the two smaller meals they may not eat meat, but may take sufficient food to maintain their strength. Eating between meals is not permitted, but liquids, including milk, fruit juices and water, may be taken any time on a fast day. Ash Wednesday, Good Friday, Holy Saturday and the days before Holy Days of Obligation are all fast days.

Exceptions may be made by the Bishop or Pastor for individuals due to health reasons or personal circumstances.  


In granting these concessions, the bishops urged the faithful:

* to attend daily mass during the period of fast and abstinence 

  (If this is not possible, saying all or part of the Divine Office or praying the Holy   Rosary will add to your devotions.)

* to receive the Holy Eucharist frequently

* to take part in exercises of piety as often as possible

* to give generously to works of religion and charity

* to practice voluntary self denial 

* to pray more fervently